top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Charger CC Teams Finish Second at WCV

Both ACGC cross country teams finished second on the 5x80 Golf Course in a meet hosted by West Central Valley on Thursday. Both squads finished behind ranked teams, as the Charger girls finished second to eighth ranked Panorama and the boys finished behind tenth ranked Woodward Academy.

Kate Crawford continued her dominance among western Iowa runners, winning her sixth consecutive race of the fall in a time of 19:08..54. Emma Swanson (20:21.49) returned to action after missing last week's meet due to injury and crossed the finish line in third place on Thursday. Lauren Embleton (21:08.21) finished seventh, while Keely Vasey (22:54.87) finished sixteenth and Jackie Trujillo-Garcia (24:05.42) was twenty fourth to round out the scoring for the Chargers. The team total was 46 for the local girls with Panorama winning the team title with 30 points.

The boys were paced by Noah Nelson (16:45.29) who finished second for the third time this season. He was followed by Clay Billheimer (17:32.41) in eighth and Garrett Young (17:36.40) in ninth. Also figuring in the Charger scoring were Quenton Spack (18:36.59) in twenty second place and Carter Schildberg (18:38.85) in twenty third place. Woodward Academy scored 54 points while the Chargers finished a close second with 61 points.

Commenting on the girls meet Coach Shawgo said, "Kate won another meet by beating the second place finisher by about thirty five seconds. Emma was coming off an injury and ran well, finishing in third place."

He had this to say about the boys meet: "The boys finished a close second to Woodward. Academy. They are continuing to show a lot of improvement, and look like they will be ready for a great finish to the season."

Others competing in the girls' race were Mackenzie Reinhart (24:20.52-22nd), Sabrina Ure (24:37.11-26th), Alyson Embleton (24:42.57-32nd), Regan Rumelhart (25:57.8-36th), Kennedy Young (25:41.63-47th), Malena Rumelhart (25:49.27-51st), Sara Schmeling (27:10.4-57th), Mady Suhr (28:39.39-68th), and Mia Schreck (30:29.15-70th). A total of seventy five girls participated.

Additional boys' runners for the Chargers included Easton Benson (18:43.97-24th), Ben Young (18:52.16-26th), Donnie Swanson (18:53.46-28th), Gunnar Larsen (19:08.64-32nd), Joe Davis (19:40.79-46th), Blaine Beeler (20:21.94-66th), Noah Sargent (20:30.27-73rd), Matt Hanner (20:50.66-77th), Nash Ayers (20:51.15-78th), Sam Madsen (21:31.23-85th), Zach Fees (21:38.42-87th), and Seth Danker (22:29.68-98th). There were 117 runners in the boys' meet.

Shawgo indicated the next meet at South Hamilton of Jewell will be very competitive. "We will face some good competition at Jewell from several 2A and 3A schools." That meet will take place on Thursday, October 5th.

Team Scoring

Girls Boys

Panorama 30 Woodward Academy 54


Missouri Valley 103 Ogden 79

Ogden 104 Panorama 114

West Central Valley 120 Missouri Valley 130

Van Meter 135 IKM-Manning 144

Exira-EHK 179 Ankeny Christian Academy 215

West Central Valley 218

Van Meter 230

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page