top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Chargers "Drenched" by IKM-M, 44-0

On a night "fit for neither man nor beast" IKM-Manning sloshed its way to a 44-0 win over the ACGC Chargers on Friday night in a game played in Manning. It rained essentially throughout the entire affair and included a forty five minute delay due to lightening in the area.

The game was never really in doubt as IKM-M scored on the fourth play from scrimmage when Steven Grimm broke loose for a 50 yard rushing touchdown. After a three and out for the Chargers, the Wolves put together a six play, 51 yard drive with Carter Irlmeier scoring from six yards out to make the score 14-0. When the Chargers were again unable to move the ball, IKM-M

responded with its third touchdown of the first stanza when quarterback Jared Johnson hit Marshall Hansen on a 41 yard pass for a score. A two point conversion made the score 22-0.

After Ben Kingery rushed 15 yards for a Charger first down on its next possession, a penalty and a sack of quarterback Bryce Littler forced the Chargers to punt. After neither team generated much offense on several possessions, IKM-M intercepted a Littler pass and began a 39 yard drive that ended with a 1 yard plunge by Grimm at 5:06 of the second quarter. A two point conversion made the score 30-0.

A bad snap from center that went over punter Will Byers head on ACGC's next possession resulted in a recovery of the ball by the Wolves on the Chargers 20 yard line. Two plays later Nathan Blackman rushed for a 16 yard touchdown with 2:43 remaining in the half. With the two point conversion, the score went to 38-0. It was at this point that lightening caused play to be suspended. Players and fans both scurried for cover in what became an extended half time.

When play resumed after a forty five minute delay, the second quarter was first completed with no additional scoring and then the third quarter was immediately started. With Cole Boyer carrying the ball on three consecutive plays for two first downs, the Chargers moved from its own thirty yard line to the Wolves' 45 yard line. The drive stalled at that point and on fourth down IKM-M recovered a Charger fumble. Five plays later Irlmeier scored from 37 yards for his second touchdown of the game with 3:29 left in the third quarter. The PAT was good making the score 44-0.

With a continuous clock and little offense by either team in the final quarter, the last twelve minutes went quickly--something that was no doubt welcomed by both players and fans who were equally drenched by the end of the game.

Coach McDermott offered these comments following the game. "It was a tough night to play with the rain and lightening. We wanted to have a balanced attack, but the slick and wet conditions limited our passing attack. IKM-Manning is a very good team and will probably be the second team out of our district to qualify for the playoffs.

"With Senior Night coming up this Friday our goal is to get healthy and prepare for a very solid OABCIG team. We are very proud of our senior class, as they have been a hard working group and ready to go each week. They will be missed. Our seniors atr Caden Wardyn, Collin Stowe, Owen Hansen, Logan Brincks, Nate Schiller, Dustin Hansen, Sam Fuller, and Cole Boyer."

With the loss, the Charger record falls to 1-6 overall and 0-5 in district seven play. IKM-M kept its playoff hopes alive, as its record moves to 4-1 in district play and 5-2 overall. The Chargers will play their home finale on Friday, Oct. 13 when they will entertain Odebolt-Arthur-Battle Creek-Ida Grove on Jarmain Field at 7 PM.

Line Score:

ACGC 0 0 0 0- 0

IKM-M 22 16 7 9-44


Passing: Bryce Littler (6 attempts-0 completions-1 interception)

Rushing: Cole Boyer (18 attempts-63 yards), Logan Brincks (3-5), Owen Hansen (2-4),

Ben Kingery (6-31), Cole Plowman (1-0), Caden Wardyn (1-1)

Kick Offs: Quynton Younker (1-22yards)

Punting: Logan Brincks (1-32 yd ave.), Will Byars (5-40.6)

Kick Off Returns: Owen Hansen (2- 2yds.), Avery Wheatley (1-10)

Tackles: Cole Boyer (6 solo, 1 assist), Will Byars (2-3), Trey Derry (0-2),Sam Fuller (4-1),

Flavio Gonzalez (1-0), Spencer Grove (0-1), Owen Hansen (0-1), Kolby Jacobe (3-2),

Ben Kingery (2-7), Devon Oberholtz (1-0), Gabe Rowley (2-1), Collin Stowe (2-0),

Caden Wardyn (2-5), Avery Wheatley (1-4), Quynton Younker (5-4)

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page