• Keith Hjelle

Beeler and Benson Win Titles at Nodaway Valley Invitational Wrestling Tourney; Team Finishes Fourth

Two ACGC wrestlers were crowned champions at the eight team Coach Riley Invitational at Nodaway Valley High School yesterday, as Blaine Beeler won at 120 lb. and Zachary Fees took the 132 lb. title. Beeler recorded a fall in his championship match, while Benson scored pins in both his quarterfinal and championship matches. Beeler pushed his undefeated record to 5-0 and Benson's record now stands at 5-1.

Seth Danker (106) , Zachary Fees (132), and Ben Kingery (195) all took third place for the Chargers and Gunnar Larsen (113) finished in fourth place. Danker and Kingery each recorded one fall, while Fees had two en route to their third place finishes.

The Chargers finished in fourth place in the team standings with 80 points. Conference foe Van Meter/Earlham won the meet with 184 points.

Individual results for ACGC were as follows:

106 lb: Seth Danker placed third. Quarterfinals: Received a bye

Semifinals: Riley Harger (VM/Earl) over Danker by MD 11-1

Cons. Semis: Danker over Ben Breheny (NV) by fall 1:13

Third Place: Danker over Tyler Halloran (Clarinda) by dec. 11-7

113 lb: Gunnar Larsen placed 4th: Quarterfinals: Received a bye

Semifinals: Colby Wiederholt (VM/Earl) over Larsen by MD 10-1

Cons. Semis: Larsen received a bye

Third Place: Trey Ehlen (Mt. Ayr) over Larsen by dec. 7-4

120 lb: Blaine Beeler placed first. Quarterfinals: Received a bye

Semifinals: Beeler over Joel Sampson (AHSTW) by dec. 4-0

Championship: Beeler over Carter Wilken (Clarke) by fall 3:52

126 lb: Easton Benson placed first:

Quarterfinals: Benson over Jesse Espinosa (Clarinda) by fall 1:18

Semifinals: Benson over Tyler Haynes (VM/Earl) by dec. 4-2

Championship: Benson over Parker Hardy (Clarke) by fall 3:51

132 lb: Zachary Fees placed third. Quarterfinals: Received a bye

Semifinals: Riley Domina (Clarke) over Fees by. dec. 10-3

Cons. Semis: Fees won over Briar Knapp (Mt. Ayr) by fall 1:10

Third place: Fees won over Gage Reece (Clarinda) by fall 2:22

195 lb: Ben Kingery place third.

Quarterfinals: Kingery won over Carter Smith (Clarke) by fall 1:12

Semifinals: Noah Hale (VM/Earl) won over Kingery by fall 3:48

Cons. Semis: Kingery received a bye

Third place: Kingery over Jaden Loe (Bedford/Lenox) by sudden victory 3-1

Team Standings:

Team Points

Van Meter/Earlham 184

Bedford/Lenox 116

AHSTW 112.5


Clarinda 76.5

Clarke 76

Mt. Ayr 73

Central Decatur 65

Nodaway Valley 19

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ACGC Cross Country Teams Both Head to State Meet

The ACGC cross country teams turned in outstanding performances yesterday at the state qualifying meet as both the girls' and boys' teams qualified for the state meet to be held in Fort Dodge next wee

Chargers' VB Advances to Regional Semifinals

With its 3-0 shutout of Nodaway Valley last night, the ACGC volleyball team has advanced to the regional semifinals for the fifth consecutive year and will face Southwest Valley of Corning in Corning

Chargers' Volleyball Wins Two of Five at W-G

The ACGC volleyball team concluded its regular season on Saturday at the Woodward-Granger tournament and came home with a two win, three loss record at the tourney. In pool play the team opened with a