top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Seth Danker Advances to District Wrestling; All Nine Charger Grapplers Place in Sectional Tourney

When the sectional and district wrestling assignments were announced earlier in the season, Charger coach Shawn Danker said any ACGC wrestler who qualified for the state meet would have earned it because the competition was going to be fierce in both the sectional and district meets. He hit the nail right on the head. Freshman Seth Danker was the lone district qualifier for the ACGC wrestlers as he finished runnerup in the 106 lb weight class at the Ogden sectional today.

Danker won his first two matches by fall over wrestlers from South Hamilton and Panorama. In the championship match he lost by fall to Cael Cassady of Martensdale-St. Marys, but came back to claim second place by winning over Noah Strohmeyer of Colfax-Mingo in an 8-2 decision. As runner up Danker qualifies for next Saturday's district meet that will be held at ACGC High School, and is half way en route to the state meet.

In addition to Danker, each of the other eight Charger grapplers placed in the sectional tourney. Zach Fees finished third for the Chargers at 132 lbs, while Cale Rowley (113 lb), Blaine Beeler (120 lb), Gabe Rowley (138 Lb), and Seth Brokaw (145 lb) all placed fourth. A fifth place finish went to Easton Benson at 126 lbs. while Cole Plowman (160 lb) and Ben Kingery (182 lb) both finished sixth.

Panorama won the team title with 217.5 points, with I-35 finishing second with 210.5. The Chargers finished with 96 points, good for fifth place among the eight teams participating.

Next week's district will consist of competition among the champions and runnersup in each weight class from the Ogden and Missouri Valley sectionals, with the top two finishers in each weight class advancing to the state tournament. Next Saturday's matches will begin at noon.

Team totals were as follows:

Panorama 217.5

I-35 210.5

Colfax-Mingo 180

M-St. Marys 165


Ogden 86.5

CRB 69

So. Hamilton 65.5

Results for ACGC wresters were as follows:

106 lb.

Seth Danker (32-10) placed 2nd and scored 20.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Seth Danker (Acgc) 32-10 won by fall over Mohamed Yokie (South Hamilton-Jewell) 13-21 (Fall 5:05)

  • Semifinal - Seth Danker (Acgc) 32-10 won by fall over Logan Christe (Panorama-Panora) 24-22 (Fall 1:23)

  • 1st Place Match - Cael Cassady (Martensdale-St. Marys) 40-8 won by fall over Seth Danker (Acgc) 32-10 (Fall 1:33)

  • 2nd Place Match - Seth Danker (Acgc) 32-10 won by decision over Noah Strohmeyer (Colfax-Mingo) 23-15 (Dec 8-2)

113 lb.

Cale Rowley (22-19) placed 4th and scored 11.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Cale Rowley (Acgc) 22-19 won by fall over Owen Van Cannon (Ogden) 7-15 (Fall 0:51)

  • Semifinal - Zack Barnes (Colfax-Mingo) 30-7 won by fall over Cale Rowley (Acgc) 22-19 (Fall 3:42)

  • 3rd Place Match - Tryston Palmer (Interstate 35,Truro) 18-25 won by decision over Cale Rowley (Acgc) 22-19 (Dec 13-11)

120 lb.

Blaine Beeler (38-9) placed 4th and scored 11.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Blaine Beeler (Acgc) 38-9 won by fall over Logan Major (Martensdale-St. Marys) 21-16 (Fall 3:58)

  • Semifinal - Cauy Fitch (Colfax-Mingo) 46-5 won by decision over Blaine Beeler (Acgc) 38-9 (Dec 11-6)

  • 3rd Place Match - Peyton Clipperton (Coon Rapids-Bayard) 36-13 won by decision over Blaine Beeler (Acgc) 38-9 (Dec 8-3)

126 lb.

Easton Benson (27-9) placed 5th and scored 8.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Brody Nelson (Interstate 35,Truro) 29-21 won by decision over Easton Benson (Acgc) 27-9 (Dec 9-2)

  • Cons. Semi - Easton Benson (Acgc) 27-9 received a bye () (Bye)

  • 5th Place Match - Easton Benson (Acgc) 27-9 won by fall over Avery McCloud (Ogden) 16-24 (Fall 0:37)

132 lb.

Zachary Fees (30-16) placed 3rd and scored 16.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Zachary Fees (Acgc) 30-16 won by fall over Tim Carroll (Colfax-Mingo) 17-18 (Fall 1:40)

  • Semifinal - Wyatt Appleseth (Panorama-Panora) 38-8 won by major decision over Zachary Fees (Acgc) 30-16 (MD 11-2)

  • 3rd Place Match - Zachary Fees (Acgc) 30-16 won by fall over Austin Snyder (Coon Rapids-Bayard) 23-16 (Fall 1:59)

  • 2nd Place Match - Wyatt Appleseth (Panorama-Panora) 38-8 won by rule over Zachary Fees (Acgc) 30-16 (RULE)

138 lb.

Gabe Rowley (14-9) placed 4th and scored 11.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Gabe Rowley (Acgc) 14-9 won by fall over Carson Hilgenberg (Coon Rapids-Bayard) 26-18 (Fall 2:00)

  • Semifinal - Noah Kirtley (Panorama-Panora) 39-12 won by fall over Gabe Rowley (Acgc) 14-9 (Fall 1:53)

  • 3rd Place Match - Lane Swenson (South Hamilton-Jewell) 23-22 won by fall over Gabe Rowley (Acgc) 14-9 (Fall 3:33)

145 lb.

Seth Brokaw (7-16) placed 4th and scored 9.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Seth Brokaw (Acgc) 7-16 won by decision over Trevor Thompson (South Hamilton-Jewell) 15-25 (Dec 7-6)

  • Semifinal - Ethan Elliot (Interstate 35,Truro) 36-7 won by fall over Seth Brokaw (Acgc) 7-16 (Fall 1:31)

  • 3rd Place Match - Nathan Evans (Colfax-Mingo) 19-20 won by fall over Seth Brokaw (Acgc) 7-16 (Fall 3:41)

160 lb.

Cole Plowman (7-21) placed 6th and scored 4.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Garret Fox (Panorama-Panora) 22-17 won by fall over Cole Plowman (Acgc) 7-21 (Fall 0:20)

  • Cons. Semi - Cole Plowman (Acgc) 7-21 received a bye () (Bye)

  • 5th Place Match - Justus Rude (Ogden) 12-17 won by major decision over Cole Plowman (Acgc) 7-21 (MD 9-0)

182 lb.

Ben Kingery (10-28) placed 6th and scored 6.00 team points.

  • Quarterfinal - Trevor Carey (Panorama-Panora) 38-7 won by fall over Ben Kingery (Acgc) 10-28 (Fall 3:03)

  • Cons. Semi - Ben Kingery (Acgc) 10-28 won by fall over Denver Hoskins (Ogden) 9-15 (Fall 1:23)

  • 5th Place Match - Kale Pevestorf (Coon Rapids-Bayard) 22-22 won by fall over Ben Kingery (Acgc) 10-28 (Fall 1:05)

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page