• Keith Hjelle

Cold Opening for Charger Golfers; Kena Baer Finishes Fourth in DMC Triangular

The ACGC golf teams opened their seasons yesterday in triangulars hosted by Des Moines Christian at Jester Park in Des Moines. Kena Baier was the lone girl to compete for the Chargers and she turned in a good performance in the cold weather as she carded a 55 over the nine holes played, enabling her to finish fourth among the eleven girls who competed.

Des Moines Christian won the girls' meet with a score of 202 complied by its top four golfers. Coach Lori McGivney was impressed both by Baier's performance and by that of both DMC teams. "That was a very good start to the season for Kenna. DMC shot impressive golf scores for any day, but add in the weather conditions and they become very impressive." The top four Lions shot 46, 47, 50, and 59 for the day. Earlham finished in second place with rounds of 57, 65, 72, and 76 for a total of 270.

DMC made it a sweep for the day, as it took first in the boys' meet with scores of 37, 40, 40, and 46 for a total of 163. Earlham was second with 186. The ACGC boys' were led by Spencer Grove's 58, followed by Nolan Wheatley's 60, a 62 by McClain Jorgensen, and Seth Danker's 65 to account for the Chargers' 245 stroke total. Austin Hall and Cason Benson also played for ACGC, finishing with scored of 70 and 75 respectively.

McGivney added these comments. "I feel we are striking the ball better, but have a lot of short game practice ahead of us to help cut down some strokes. All of the golfers did a good job of managing their games and playing without complaint (in the cold weather)."

The boys' are scheduled to participate in an invitational at IKM-Manning on Saturday, beginning ay 8:30 am. Both teams will be in action on Monday, April 9 in triangular meets at Woodward, with T-time scheduled for 4 pm.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Chargers' VB Team Narrowly Misses Title at ACGC Invite

ACGC hosted seven other volleyball teams for the annual Charger Invitational on Saturday and bested every team it played until the title match when it lost to Colfax-Mingo, 2-1, with set scores of 21-

ACGC Gridders Whip Wildcats, 56-0

This one went pretty much as expected. ACGC was the heavy favorite in its Friday football game versus West Central Valley, and the game went according to the what the local odds makers predicted. Fi

ACGC Cross Country Teams Finish 2nd, 5th at Panorama

The Lake Panorama par three golf course was the latest scene for area high school cross country runners to compete, and the competition was fierce, especially among teams from the WCAC. Four conferen