top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Girls Second, Boys Third in Track State Qualifier; 19 Chargers Advance to State!

The Charger lightening bolt shown brightly last night at the state qualifying track meet in Van Meter, as the girls finished second in team scoring with 102 points and qualified a minimum of six girls for next week's state meet, while the boys finished third with 83 points in the twelve team meet, qualifying at least five individuals to run on the Drake University blue oval. See NOTE below for additional qualifiers--a grand total of 19 Chargers going to state meet!

Kate Crawford qualified in four events , and won three golds in the process, winning the 1500 meter run (5:01.2), and the 3000 (10:42.12, and anchoring the 1600 medley relay (4:20.71). She finished second in the 800 (2:25.53). Joining Crawford on the winning medley were Mady Smith, Savana Fuller, and Sarah Schmeling. Reagen Rumelhart ran with Smith, Fuller and Schmeling to finish second in the 800 meter relay (1:51.19). Fuller also finished third in the 200 m dash (27.76), and will find out later today if her time is such that she qualifies for state.

Clay Billheimer qualified in three different event for ACGC. He claimed the top prize in the 800 (2:03.07), anchored the 1600 medley relay (3:40.38) to a first place finish, and finished second in the 1600 meter run (4:38.10).

Noah Nelson qualified in at least two individual events, as he won a gold in the 3200 meter run (10:13.50) and finished second behind Billheimer in the 800 (2:05.07). He also finished third in the 1600 (4:39.46) and will learn later today if his time was good enough to qualify for state.

Caden Wardyn also qualified in two events, as he won the long jump (21'5.5") and ran the 400 leg of the 1600 medley relay. Dylan Soper and Justin Plowman joined Wardyn and Billheimer on the winning 1600 medley relay team, with Soper leading off and Powman running second.

Mady McDermott is the sixth Charger girl to qualify, as she threw the discuss 113'1". Her put of 37'3.5" in the shot was good enough for third, and she will also learn later today of her fate in that


The state meet runs Thursday through Saturday of next week. Detains of when the Chargers will run will be forthcoming.

NOTE: Since this article was written earlier today, eight additional Chargers have been added to the state meet roster! Despite not finishing in the top two in their respective events, all eight had times or distances that were good enough for them to advance to Des Moines.

So, let's add to the list: Mady McDermott in the shot put; Noah Nelson in the 1600 meters; Emma Swanson in the 3000 meter run; the girls' 3200 meter relay, consisting of Audrey Stowe, Sophie Danker, Rylee Sloss, and Lauren Embelton. and the boys' shuttle hurdle team made up of Cole Boyer, Gabe Rowley, Caden Wardyn, and Grady Laabs.

ACGC Girls' Results ACGC Boys' Results

Shot put 3rd: Mady McDermott, 37..5" DNP: Quynton Younker, 41'1.5"

DNP: Sam Madsen, 39'7.5"

Discus 2nd: Mady McDermott, 113'01" DNP: Collin Stowe, 115'9"

DNP: Bryce Littler, 107'7"

Long jump DNP: Belle Policky, 11'7" 1st: Caden Wardyn, 21'5"

High jump No entries No entries

100 m dash DNP Emily Vogl, 14.99 DNP: Ben Kingey, 12.79

DNP Kylie Young, 15.84

200 m dash 3rd: Savana Fuller, 27. 76 DNP: Dylan Soper, 24.46

DNP: Emma Vogl, 31.37 DNP: Carter Schildberg, 25.19

400 m dash DNP: Sabrina Ure, 1:14.39 5th: Carter Schildberg, 55,52

DNP: Mackenzie Reinhart, 1:14.69 DNP: Jason Goff, 1:03.77

800 m run 2nd: Kate Crawford, 2:25.53 1st: Clay Billheimer, 2:03.07

4th: Emma Swanson, 2:35.21 2nd: Noah Nelson, 2:05.07

1500 m run (G) 1st: Kate Crawford, 5:01.20

6th: Lauryn Embleton, 5:32.84

1600 m run (B) 2nd: Clay Billheimer, 4:38.42

3rd: Noah Nelson, 4:39.46

3000 m run (G) 1st: Kate Crawford, 19:42.12

3rd: Emma Swanson, 11:19.51

3200 m run (B) 1st: Noah Nelson, 10:13.50

100 m hurdles (G) 6th: Mady Smith, 17.57

DNP: Charlotte Colling, 19.13

110 m hurdles (B) 7th: Cole Boyer, 16.85

400 m hurdles 8th: Olivia Laabs, 1:15.79 5th: Gabe Rowley, 59.86

DNP: Keely Vasey, 1:27.35 DNP: Grady Laabs, 1:03.9

400 hurdle relay (G) DNP: Kennedy Young, Jenna Stringer

Reese Coffman, Charlotte Colling, 1:22.17

440 hurdle relay (B) 3rd: Cole Boyer, Gabe Rowley, Caden Wardyn, Grady Laabs, 1:02.1

400 m relay 3rd: Regan Rumelhart, Sara DNP: Gabe Rowley, Cole Boyer, Justin

Schmeling, Mady Smith Savana Fuller, 53.52 Plowman, Dylan Soper, 48.71

800 m relay 2nd: Reagan Rumelhart, Sara DNP: Quenton Spack, Austin Wierick,

Schmeling, Mady Smith, Savana Fuller, 1:51.19 Kolby Jacobe, Ben Kingery, 1:44.47

1600 m relay 5th: Emma Swanson, Audrey Stowe, 5th: Caden Wardyn, Carter Schlldberg,

Reagan Rumelhart, Sara Schmeling, 4:30.02 Quenton Spack, Clay Billheimer, 3:41.40

3200 m relay 3rd: Audrey Stowe, Sophie Danker, 8th: Donnie Swanson, Jason Goff, Joe

Rylee Sloss, Lauryn Embleton, 10:34.66 Davis, Ben Young, 9:52.52

800 m medley DQ: Belle Policky, Kylie Young, DNP: Ben Kingery, Kolby Jacobe, Quenton

Emma Vogl, Sabrina Ure Spack, Austin Wierick, 1:47.77

1600 m medley 1st: Mady Smith, Savana Fuller, 1st: Dylan Soper, Justin Plowman, Cadyn

Sara Schmeling, Kate Crawford, 4:20.71 Wardyn, Clay Billheimer, 3:40.38

Girls' Team Scores Boys' Team Scores

Panorama 187 Van Meter 120

ACGC 102 Pleasantville 88

Mt Ayr 93 ACGC 83

Van Meter 80 DSM Christian 74

Wood-Granger 49 Panorama 73

West Cent Valley 48 Woodward Acad 60

Interstate 35 39 West Cent Valley 58

Pleasantville 38 Mt Ayr 47

Colfax-Mingo 37 Interstate 35 43

DSM Christian 30 Clarke 38

Clarke 29 Wood-Granger 37

Woodward Acad 3 Colfax-Mingo 20

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page