• Keith Hjelle

Girls Harriers Finish Third, Boys Fourth at Gilbert Meet; Kate Crawford Medalist

The ACGC cross country teams opened the 2018 season yesterday in a meet hosted by Gilbert and run on the Iowa State University course. The competition was stiff for both teams as the girls, led by medalist Kate Crawford, finished third and the boys claimed fourth place.

Panorama won the girls' title with 28 points, while Earlham took second place with 32 points and the Chargers third with 41 points. Crawford and Ella Waddle of Panorama continued their dual from last season as Waddle finished second, 24 seconds behind Crawford, who ran the course in 20:38. Lauryn Embleton finished a solid fifth for the Chargers in 22.31. Other Chargers figuring in the scoring were Riley Sloss in 10th place in a time of 22:31, Keely Vasey in 34th place with a time of 25:37, and Kenzie Reinhart in the 37th spot in a time of 25:58.

Other ACGC runners finished close behind, as Jackie Trujillo-Garcia placed 39th (26:07), Malena Rumelhart (41st; 26:11), Aubrey Chmelar (26:13), Kennedy Young (26:29), Belle Polciky (28:23), and Reagan Rumelhart (20:07).

The WCAC represented itself well in the boys' meet, as teams from the conference took six of the top seven spots. Madrid topped the boys' meet with 36 points, followed by South Hamilton (69 points), Earlham (87 points) and the Chargers (116 points). Noah Nelson led the Chargers with a second place finish behind Madrid's Sean McDermott. McDermott ran the course in 17:16 while Nelson ran it in 17:29. The conference rivals have had many a battle in both track and cross country. Clay Billheimer finished 7th for ACGC with a time of 18:26. Three other runners figured in the scoring for ACGC, with Ben Young coming in 24th in 19:51, Miles Kading in 36th place with a time of 20:35, and Eli Kading in the 47th spot with a time of 21:10. Other runners for ACGC were Easton Benson (48th; 21:10), Noah Sargent (60th, 21:29), Donnie Swanson (21:43), Zander Kenyon (21:51), Blaine Beeler (21:59), Zach Moon (22:11), Zach Ayers (22:25), Matt Hanner (24:00), and Lane Sheeder (24:15).

Charger head coach seemed to have mixed feelings about the results when he said, "It was a good starting point for everyone. The focus now is to build on this and grow into two great teams. Both teams didn't do as well as we were hoping placing wise, but we lost to some good competition. Kate looked very good for a first meet and Noah had a good race."

The Charger teams will next compete at Madrid on Thursday, August 31st, with the girls meet to begin at 5 PM.

Girls' Team Scoring Boys' Team Scoring

Panorama 28 Madrid 36

Earlham 71 So. Hamilton 69

ACGC 87 Earlham 87

W. Marshall 104 ACGC 116

So. Hamilton 108 DMC 130

Madrid 134 Ogden 156

Pl's'ntville 144 Van Meter 191

Van Meter 223 Pella Chr'stin 198

Ogden 265 Eagle Grove 225

CRB 285 W. Marshall 231

Panorama 278

Ank'ny Acad. 335

Pl's'ntville . 417

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ACGC Baseball Comes From Behind to Defeat Ex-EHK, 10-4

The ACGC baseball team was forced to play catch up in the early going before coming from behind to defeat Exira-ElkHorn-Kimballton, 10-4, in a non-conference game played last night on the Charger diam

ACGC Baseball Gets Even With Ogden, 9-4

The ACGC baseball team picked up a conference win last night when it avenged an earlier loss to Ogden by defeating the Bulldogs, 9-4, on the Charger diamond. The Chargers fell to Ogden 8-3 on June 2

Charger Softball Plays Complete Game in 8-1 Win

Last night's ACGC 8-1 softball win over Ogden was a game well played by the Chargers in all phases of the game. The Chargers came up with nine hits, including home runs by Tori Fuller and EmmaKay McC