top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Charger Wrestlers Place Second at Nodaway Valley; Rowley Claims Crown

The ACGC wrestling team began its tournament season yesterday at the Coach Riley Invitational at Nodaway Valley High School in Greenfield, and came home with a second place finish. The Chargers scored 115 points while Van Meter/Earlham claimed the top spot with 185.5 points.

Gabe Rowlley was the lone Charger champion as he claimed the top prize in the 152 pound weight class. Rowley received a bye in the quarterfinal round, and then proceeded to pin AHSTW's Denver Pauley in 1:09 in the semifinals and Elliot Ness of Central Decatur in 3:48 in the championship match. Gunnar Larsen finished as runnerup in the 132 pound class, pinning his first two opponents before losing a 1-0 heartbreaker in the finals to Tyler Haynes of VM/Earlham.

Third place finishes went to Dawson Muller at 113, Blaine Beeler at 126, Trevin Suhr at 138, Easton Benson at 145, and Ben Kingery at 195.

"It was a pretty good day," Charger coach Shawn Danker commented after the meet. "All of our wrestlers placed and scored points for the team."

Thursday the Chargers will host Bedford and Coon Rapids-Bayard for a double dual event beginning at 5:30 PM.

ACGC results are as follows: Some results are incomplete, as they were sent by Nodaway Valley incorrectly. Those results are marked with triple asterisks ***

113 lb: Dawson Muller finished third

Quarterfinals: Muller over Dakota Grow (Clarke) by fall, 0:41

Semifinals: Riley Harger (VM/Earl) over Muller by fall, 1:04

Cons. semis: Muller over Payton Fleharty (Mt Ayr) by fall, 3:42

3rd place: Dawson over Austin Angus (Mt. Ayr) by fall, 1:25

126 lb: Blaine Beeler finished third

Quarterfinals: Beeler over Kale Downey (Clarinda) by MD, 13-5

Semifinals: Trae Ehlen (Mt. Ayr) over Beeler by fall, 3:34

Cons. semis: Beeler over Logan Jones (Cent. Decatur) by fall, 2:53

3rd place: Beeler over Elliot Young by MD, 11-2

132: Gunnar Larsen finished second

Quarterfinals: Larsen over Zethann May (Clarke) by fall, 1:34

Semifinals: Larsen over Quentin Gregg (Mt Ayr) by fall, 2:28

Finals: Tyler Haynes (VM/Earl) over Larsen by dec, 1-0

138: Trevin Suhr finished third

Quarterfinals: Suhr over Andrew Kennan (Bed/Lenox) by fall, 0:24

Semifinals: Joel Sampson (AHSTW) over Suhr by fall, 0:31

Cons. semis: Suhr recieved a bye

3rd place: Suhr over Andrew Kennan (Bed/Lenox) by fall, 0:50

145: Easton Benson finished third

Quarterfinals: Benson over Trey Hill (Bed/Lenox) by fall, 3:02

Semifinals: Quinn Corcoran (VM/Earl) over Benson by dec, 9-2

3rd place: Benson over David Walker (Cent Decatur) by fall, 5:12

152: Gabe Rowley finished first

Quarterfinals: Rowley received a bye

Semifinals: Rowley over Denver Pauley by fall, 1:09

Finals: Rowley over Elliott Ness (Cent Decatur) by fall, 3:48

160: Devon Oberholtz finished fifth

Quarterfinals: Caleb Swalla (VM/Earl) over Oberholtz by fall, 1:27

Cons. Round 1: Oberholtz over Mattew Dudney (Clarke) by fall, 0:30

Cons. semis: Dakota Reed (Cent Decatur) over Oberholtz by fall, 0:47

***Oberholtz defeated a wrestler from Mt. Ayr by fall to finish fifth

170: Gavin Cornelison finished fifth

Quarterfinals: Trevor Flettre (NV) over Cornelison by fall, 2:53

Cons. Round 1: Cornelison recieved a bye

Cons. semis: Gabe Madsen (AHSTW) over Cornelison by fall, 1:46

***Cornelison won a consolation match to enable him to finish fifth .

182: Cole Plowman finished sixth

Quarterfinals: Trey Bond (VM/Earl) over Plowman by fall, 1:11

Cons. Round 1: Plowman over Kooper Brown (NV) by fall, 2:46

Cons. semis: Jacob Childs (Clarinda) over Plowman by fall, 0:31

***Plowman lost a consolation match and finished sixth.

195: Ben Kingery finished third

Quarterfinals: Kingery received a bye

Semifinals: Jake Smith (Clarke) over Kingery by dec, 7-3

Cons. semis: Kingery recieved a bye

3rd place match: Kingery over Jeffery Ressler (NV) by fall ):38

220: Gage Buttler finished fifth

Quarterfinals: Leland Barr (AHSTW) over Buttler by fall, 0:20

Cons. Round 1: Buttler received a bye

Cons. semis: jarod McGregor (Clarinda) over Butter by fall, 1:59

***Buttler won by fall over a Clarke wrestler to finish fifth

Team Scores:

VM/Earlham 185.5

ACGC 115.0

AHSTW 99.5

Clarinda 99.0

Clarke 84.5

Bed/ Lenox 82.0

Nod Valley 76.0

Cent Decatur 56.0

Mt. Ayr 44.0

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page