top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Charger Grapplers Find Tough Competition at Riverside, Finish Seventh

The Charger wrestling team found the going pretty tough at the Riverside of Oakland tournament yesterday, finishing seventh out of the seventeen teams participating. Teams from Missouri and Nebraska were present as well as teams from Iowa. Lathrop, Mo. and Papillion-La Vista South, Neb. claimed the top two team spots with 216 and 186 points respectively. The Charger point total was 83.

Blaine Beeler had the best finish for ACGC, as he took second place at 120. Beeler won by decision over Garrison Gettler of AHSTW in a quaterfinal match and pinned Dennis Pilling of Riverside in 0:34 to reach the finals where he lost to Stone Sindlar of Papillion, 3-1.

Seth Danker, Gabe Rowley and Easton Benson all managed third place finishes for the Chargers. Rowley had the fasted Charger pin for the day when he won by fall over Mario Houser of Riverside in 31 seconds.

The Chargers return home for a triple dual event on Thursday, with teams from Ogden, Panorama, and Southeast Valley coming to town. First matches are scheduled for 5:30. Saturday the WCAC meet will be held at Ogden beginning at 9 AM.

ACGC results

113: Seth Danker placed 3rd

Quarterfinal: Danker received a bye

Semifinal: Hagan Heistand (LoMa) over Danker by MD, 11-0

Consolation semifinal: Danker over Liam Barlow (Papillion) by dec., 9-8

3rd place match: Danker over Tyler Halloran (Clarinda) by dec., 7-4

120: Blaine Beeler placed 2nd

Quarterfinal: Beeler over Garrison Gettler (AHSTW) by MD, 13-2

Semifinal: Beeler over Dennis Pilling (Riverside) by fall, 0:34

1st place match: Stone Sindelar (Papillion) over Beeler by dec., 3-1

126: Cale Rowley placed 6th

Quarterfinal: Drystan Dotson over Rowley by fall, 1:34

Consolation round two: Rowley received a bye

Consolation round three: Rowley over Kale Downey (Clarinda) by dec., 8-5

Consolation semifinal: Andre Murray (Papillion) over Rowley by fall, 1:58

5th Place match: Will Courtney (Savannah) over Rowley by fall, 1:11

132: Trevin Suhr did not place

Quarterfinal: Joel Sampson (AHSW) over Suhr by fall, 0:52

Consolation round two: Suhr received a bye

Consolation round three: Gavin Maguire (Lo-Ma) over Suhr by fall, 0:20

138: Easton Benson placed 3rd

Quarterfinal: Benson received a bye

Semifinal: Gabe Smith (Riverside) over Benson by fall, 1:56

Consolation semifinal: Benson over Ethan Reicks (Riverside) by fall, 0:42

3rd place match: Benson over Ryan Needham (Papillion) by dec., 12-7

145: Gabe Rowley placed 6th

Championship round one: Rowley over Mario Houser (Riverside JV) by fall, 0:31

Quarterfinal: Rowley over John Mansfield, (Riverside) by dec., 8-4

Semifinal: Blayde Briner (Savannah) over Rowley by fall, 1:04

Consolation semifinal: Jackson Wray (East Mills) over Rowley by dec., 10-4

5th Place match: Josh Mansfield (Riverside) over Rowley by forfeit

152: Devon Oberholtz placed 5th

Quarterfinal: Dylan Oviatt (Lo-Ma) over Oberholtz by fall, 3:33

Consolation round one: Oberholtz over Lathe Crochet (Pekin) by fall, 1:48

Consolation semifinal: Kaelb Reed (Clarinda) over Oberholtz by fall, 3:23

5th place match: Oberholtz over Dylan Oviatt (Lo-Ma) by MD, 13-4

170: Gavin Cornelison placed 4th

Quarterfinal: Cornelison over Logan Christian (Savannah) by technical fall, 18-3

Semifinal: Dorian Walters (Lathrop) over Cornelison by MD, 10-1

Consolation semifinal: Gavin Cornelison over Lance Skank (Riverside) by fall, 0:43

3rd place match: Cole Ridnour (Clarinda) over Cornelison by technical fall, 17-1

195: Ben Kingery placed 4th

Quarterfinal: Luke Mosinski (Audubon) over Kingery by fall, 4:23

Consolation round two: Kingery over Seth Butler (Griswold) by fall, 3:26

Consolation round three: Kingery over Owen Smith (Papillion) by dec., 10-9

Consolation semifinal: Kingery over Kalob Inman (Shenandoah) by fall, 5:33

3rd place match: Luke Mosinski (Audubon) over Kingery by fall, 2:32

Team scores

Lathrop, Mo 216

Papillion, Neb 186

Lo-Ma 183.5

Riverside 143

Clarinda 106

AHSTW 104.5

AC/GC 93.5

Pekin 83

Shenandoah 48

Audubon 47

Savannah 37.5

East Mills 35

Woodbine 34

Ex/EHK 13

Riverside JV 7

Griswold 3

West Harrison 3

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page