top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

ACGC Cindermen Take Third at Green County Invite; Billheimer Takes Two Gold

The Charger boys' track team put on a good display at the Greene County Invitational on Monday, finishing third in a meet that consisted of schools larger than ACGC. Greene County defended its own turf and captured the nine team meet.

Clay Billheimer came away with two individual firsts, as he won both the 800 and 1600 meter runs. The Charger senior won the 800 in 2:02.39 and the 1600 in 4:44.17. In addition to Billheimers' double victory, the 3200 meter relay won that event in a time of 9:04.75. Lucas Marsh ran the first leg, with Gabe Rowley and Chalie Crawford running second and third, and Noah Nelson running the anchor.

Coach Cody Matthewsen indicated that he was looking ahead when he planned for the Greene County meet. "We made a lot of changes to out events for Monday night after we saw our state qualifying competition. Coach Morris and I made the decision to set up events that we felt could be state qualifying events. We experimented with some of our athletes and wanted to get times and see what they could do in particular relays. We have yet to set up what we feel is our state qualifying event list. We learned a lot tonight about some individuals. We have shown and know we can go and score points every night and finish in the top two in meets, but that does not get us anywhere if we do not have events qualifying for state. That is our main goal at the end of the season. We have nothing to prove in team points."

The Charger boys and girls are scheduled to compete at Stuart tomorrow (Thursday), with first events scheduled for 4:30.

Complete ACGC results

Individual Events Relay events

Shot put: Sam Madsen, 5th, 43'4.5"; 400 relay: (Austin Wierick, Jacob Fox, Ben Kingery

Quynton Younker, 6th, 42'9.75"; Cayden Jensen), 4th, 48.22

Victor Gonzales, NS, 35'1" 800 relay: (Jacob Fox, Cayden Jensen, Kolby

Discus: Quynton Younker, 5th, 121'8"; Jacobe, Ben Kingery), DNP, 1:43.42

Bryce Littler, DNP, 112'10"; (Bryce Littler, Flavio Gonzalez, Reid Rumelhart,

Sam Madsen, NS, 106'4" Darvon Grubbs), NS, 1:49.10

Long jump: Charlie Crawford, DNP, 1600 relay: (Lucas Marsh, Clayton Wardyn, Kolby

17'6"; Cayden Jensen, DNP, 17'2"; Jacobe, Zach Moon), 6th, 4:14.48

Flavio Gonzalez, NS, 15'6.5" 3200 relay: (Lucas Marsh, Gabe Rowley, Charlie

High jump: Clayton Wardyn, DNP, 5'3" Crawford, Noah Nelson), 1st, 9:04.75

100 meters: Jacob Fox, DNP, 12.60; 800 medley: (Charlie Crawford, Gabe Rowley,

Reid Ruelhart, DNP, 13.36; Darvon Austin Wierick, Clay Billheimer), 5th, 1:44.18

Grubbs, NS, 13.39 (Reid Rumelhart, Flavio Gonzalez, Darvon

200 meters: Austin Wierick, 5th, 25.07; Grubbs, Carter Hansen), NS, 2:05.05

Jacob Fox, DNP, 26.12 1600 medley: Austin Wierick, Clay Billheimer,

400 meters: Kolby Jacobe, 3rd, 56.84; Gabe Rowley, Charlie Crawford, 4th, 4:01.94

Zach Moon, 6th, 59.34 Shuttle hurdle: (Clayton Wardyn, Ben Kingey,

800 meters: Clay Billheimer, 1st, 2:02.9; Kolby Jacobe, Cayden Jensen, 4th, 1:14.25

Noah Nelson, 2nd, 2:10.17; Zach Moon,

NS, 2:23.90

1600 meters: Clay Billheimer, 1st, 4:44.17;

Noah Nelson, 3rd, 4:54.66; Donnie

Swanson, NS, 5:32.62

3200 meters: Noah Nelson, 2nd, 10:06.42;

Donnie Swanson, DNP, 12:15.49: Kaden

Thompson, NS, 12:15.87

110 hurdles: Clayton Wardyn, DNP, 20.36

400 hurdles: Gabe Rowley, 3rd, 1:03. 08

Team Scores

Greene County 122 NS: Additional competitors beyond the allowable

Boone 107 number, and therefore not scored


Carroll 88

Carroll Kuemper 65

Perry 59

Humbolt 34

Saydel 15

East Sac County 10

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page