top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Boys Win WCV Track Meet, Girls Claim Second Place; Distance Runners Shine

The Charger boys' track team claimed their first team win of the season when it topped the field at the West Central Valley Wildcat Relays last Thursday. ACGC came up with 127 points to claim the title, with CAM finishing second with 106 points.

The Chargers' distance duo of seniors Clay Billheimer and Noah Nelson took care of business as they claimed the top two spots in the 800 meters and the 1600 meters. Billheimer won the 800 in 2:12.16 with Nelson close behind at 2:13.98. The tables were turned in the 1600 meter run with Nelson claiming the gold in 4:48.87 and Billheimer taking the silver in 4:49.16, edging out the third place finisher by less than two seconds.

Two relay teams also claimed the gold. The distance medley team of Austin Wierick, Dylan Soper, Gabe Rowley, and Charlie Crawford crossed the finish line in 4:03.20. The 3200 meter relay also claimed top honors with a time of 9:03.55. Gabe Rowley and Charlie Crawford ran the first two legs, with Nelson and Billheimer running the third spot and anchor respectively.

Meanwhile...the girls turned in some good performances as well to claim the runner up spot with 130 points, second to Van Meter's 175. Van Meter won the title with remarkable performances in the relay events. The Bulldogs won seven of eight relays, with ACGC claiming the eight relay.

Kate Crawford continues to dominate the distance events, as she swept all three long distance events. The Charger junior took the 800 meter run in 2:31.88, the 1500 meters in 5:16.00, and the 3000 meters in 11:30.07. Lauryn Embleton's two second place finishes gave the Chargers a sweep of the 1500 and 3000 meter runs. She ran 1500 and 3000 meters in 5:52.15 and 12:29.51 respectively. Embleton also claimed the bronze in the 800 meters with a time of 2:47.05. There is little doubt that both the Charger boys and girls have some of the top distance runners in west central Iowa.

As if three individual gold medals weren't enough, Crawford also anchored the 1600 medley relay to victory in a time of 4:42.46. Reagan Rumelhart ran the lead leg, with Savana Fuller and Audrey Stowe running second and third and Crawford on the anchor.

Madison McDermott also had an all gold medal day, as she swept the weight events. McDermott won the discus with a toss of 112'4" and the shot put with a put of 35'3.25".

The Charger teams will be back in action tomorrow (Tuesday), when they will travel to Audubon for a meet scheduled to begin at 4:30.

Complete Charger girls' results Complete Charger boys' results

Shot put: Madison McDermott, 1st, 35'3.25" Shot put: Quynton Younker. 3rd, 43'1.25",

Madalyn Kelsey, 3rd, 32'6.75" Sam Madsen, 4th, 42'11"

Discus: Madison McDermott, 1st, 112;4" . Discus: Quynton Younker, 5th, 119'2",

Madalyn Kelsey, DNP, 69'8" Bryce Littler, 6th, 114'7"

Long jump: Belle Policky, 6th, 11'3" Long jump: Charlie Crawford, 3rd, 17'9.5"

High jump: No entry High jump: Clayton Wardyn, 5th, 5'2"

100 meters: Savana Fuller, 3rd, 13.48 100 meters: Dylan Soper, 2nd, 11.36,

Regan Rumelhart, DNP, 14.27 Austin Wierick, DNP, 12.34

200 meters: Savana Fuller, 2nd, 28.58 200 meters: Dylsn Soper, 2nd, 24.17,

Reagan Rumelhart, DNP, 30.27 Austin Wierick, 3rd, 24.49

400 meters: Sophie Danker, 4th, 1:12.78 400 meters: Kolby Jacobe, DNP, 1:00.95

Chelsea Larsen, DNP, 1:15.51 Zach Moon, 101:99. DNP

800 meters: Kate Crawford, 1st, 2:31.88 800 meters: Clay Billheimer, 1st, 2:12.15

Lauryn Embleton, 3rd, 2:47.05 Noah Nelson, 2nd, 2:13.98

Kailey Eivens, NS, 3:11.57

1500 meters: Kate Crawford, 1st, 5:16.00 1600 meters: Noah Nelson, 1st, 4:48.87

Lauryn Embleton, 2nd, 5:52.15 Clay Billheimer, 2nd, 4:49.16

3000 meters: Kate Crawford, 1st, 11:30.07 3200 meters: Donnie Swanson, 4th, 12:09.63

Lauryn Embleton, 2nd, 12:29.51 Noah Nelson, DQ

400 relay: Audrey Stowe, Kendra Campbell, 400 relay: Austin Wierick, Jacob Fox, Ben

Belle Policky, Reagan Rumelhart, 4th, 48.50 Kingery, 5th, 49.51

800 relay: Kennedy Young, Kendra Campbell, 800 relay: Charlie Crawford, Jacob Fox,

Emma Vogl, Belle Policky, 6th, 2:10.84 Kolby Jacobe, Ben Kingery, 5th, 1:46.31

1600 relay: Audrey Stowe, Chelsea Larsen, 1600 relay: Clayton Wardyn, Kolby Jacobe,

Savana Fuller, Sophie Danker, 4th, 4:56.47 Seth Danker, Zach Moon, 5th, 4:11.41

3200 relay: Kendra Campbell, Kylie Young, 3200 relay: Gabe Rowley, Charlie Crawford,

Sophie Danker, Chelsea Larsen, 12:08.54 Noah nelson, Clay Billheimer, 1st, 9:03.55

100 meter hurdles: Mia Schreck, DNP, 21.90, 110 meterhurdles: Clayton Wardyn, DNP,

Charlotte Colling, DNP, 22.05 19.84

400 hurdles: Audrey Stowe, 3rd, 1:17.23 400 hurdles: Gabe Rowley, 4th, 1:04.30

Shuttle hurdle: Charlotte Colling, Paxton Shuttle hurdle: Clayton Wardyn, Seth

Schneider, Mia Screck, Keely Vasey, 5th, Danker, Kolby Jacobe, Cayden Jensen,

1:31.76 3rd, 1:15.96

800 medley: Kylie Young, Emma Vogl, Kendra 800 medley: Austi Wierick, Gabe Rowley,

Campbell, Kailey Eivens, DNP, 2:25.46 Dylan Soper, Clay Billheimer, 2nd. 1:44.01

1600 medley: Reagan Rumelhart, Savana Fuller, 1600 medley: Austin Wierick, Dylan Soper,

Audrey Stowe, Kate Crawford, 1st, 4:42.46 Gabe Rowley, Charlie Crawford, 1st, 4:03.20

Girls'Team Scores Boys' Team Scores

Van Meter 175 ACGC 130

ACGC 130 CAM 106

CAM 63 Van Meter 101

Glidden-Ralston 55 West Central Valley 96

West Central Valley 55 Woodward-Granger 66

Woodward-Granger 52 Ankeny Christian 29

Ogden 33 Ogden 28

Ankeny Christian 18 Glidden-Ralston 10

Grand View Christian 5 Paton-Churdan 2

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page