• Keith Hjelle

Charger CC Competes at Atlantic; Crawford Finishes Second, Sloss Sixth

After another meet was washed out on Thursday (this one at Panorama), the ACGC headed for Atlantic yesterday. Kate Crawford finished second in the girls' meet to lead the Chargers to a fourth place finish, while the boys were fifteenth among the seventeen teams participating. The teams competing were mostly quite a bit larger that ACGC, with six Des Moines area schools and several from the Council Bluffs and Sioux City areas running against the Chargers.

Crawford's time was 20:41.51 over the 5K course, about thirty seconds behind the winner from Tri-Center. Rylee Sloss turned in her best performance of the season with a sixth place finish in 21:21.15. Others who figured in the team score included Kiersten Knobbe who ran the course in 22:29.45, good for 26th place, Jorja Hoover (47th, 23:54.66), and Alyson Embleton (51st, 24:02.30). Also running for ACGC were Jenna Stringer (69th, 25:30.39), and Talylor Lemke (70th, 25:30.65).

The boys were short handed yesterday as they were without Trevin Suhr who has led the team in each meet this fall and Ben Young who has also figured in the Charger scoring throughout the season. The Chargers brought just six runners to the meet. Donnie Swanson finished with the best Charger performance as he ran sixtieth among the one hundred and twenty one runners with a time of 19:32.81. Miles Kading was the second Charger runner as he finished sixty second with a time of 19:37.95. Brother Eli Kading was next among the Chargers, finishing sixty fifth in a time of 19:39.81. Also figuring in the scoring were Justin Reinhart (72st, 19:52.28) and Austin Wetzel (82nd, 20:08.42). Kaden Thompson also ran for ACGC (83rd, 20:10.25).

The Chargers will next compete this Thursday in the WCAC meet at the Panorama par three golf course, with the 4PM scheduled as the start time.

Girls' Team Scores: Boys' Team Scores:

Harlan 46 Ankeny Cent JV 95

Ankeny Cent JV 71 Ankeny 123

Bishop Heelan 108 CB Thms Jeff 140

ACGC 124 Nodaway Valley 146

Ankeny 146 DMC 149

Nodaway Vlley 166 Atlantic 151

Atlantic 172 Le Mars 164

Sgt Blulff-Luton 174 Harlan 202

Lewis Central 230 Lewis Central 221

CB Abe Lincoln 248 CB Abe Lincoln 271

CB Thms Jeff 281 DM Roosevelt 294

Red Oak 301 Glenwood 294

DM Lincoln 298

Sgt Blff-Luton 314

ACGC 336

Red Oak 364

Clarinda 381

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ACGC Cross Country Teams Both Head to State Meet

The ACGC cross country teams turned in outstanding performances yesterday at the state qualifying meet as both the girls' and boys' teams qualified for the state meet to be held in Fort Dodge next wee

Chargers' VB Advances to Regional Semifinals

With its 3-0 shutout of Nodaway Valley last night, the ACGC volleyball team has advanced to the regional semifinals for the fifth consecutive year and will face Southwest Valley of Corning in Corning

Chargers' Volleyball Wins Two of Five at W-G

The ACGC volleyball team concluded its regular season on Saturday at the Woodward-Granger tournament and came home with a two win, three loss record at the tourney. In pool play the team opened with a