top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Charger Wrestlers Finish Third At Nodaway Valley Meet; Danker Claims Gold

The ACGC wrestlers made a good showing at the Coach Riley Invitational meet held yesterday at Nodaway Valley High School in Greenfield as the Chargers finished third in the eleven team tournament with 113 points.

Seth Danker led the Chargers by winning the title in the 126 pound weight class. Danker pinned his way to the title, recording falls of fourteen seconds in the quarterfinals, three and a half minutes in the semis, and just over a minute and a half in the championship match. Danker's pins came against Carter Henderson of Creston, Michael Mayer of Clarinda, and Conner Fitzgerald from Bedford/Lenox. His fourteen second pin over Henderson was unofficially the fastest recorded for the day. The Charger junior ran his season record to 6-0 in the process of winning the championship.

Gunnar Larsen narrowly missed winning the 132 pound weight class when he fell in the finals by the narrowest of margins, 12-11, to Joel Sampson of AHST. Cale Rowley claimed the bronze medal by finishing third at 145 pounds.

Next up for the Chargers is a double dual meet at Coon Rapids this coming Thursday. Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 5:30.

ACGC results:

120 lb: Dawson Muller finished fourth

Quarterfinals: Muller over Chance Valenzuela (Bedford/Lenox) by fall, 1:26

Semifinals: Ben Boheny (Nodaway Valley) over Muller by MD, 10-0

3rd place: Hayden Fischer (Avo-Ha-Shelby-Tenant) over Muller by fall, 1:39

126 lb: Seth Danker finished first

Quarterfinals: Danker over Carter Henderson (Creston-OM) by fall, 0:14

Semifinals: Danker over Michael Mayer (Clarinda) by fall, 3:29

Finals: Danker over Conner Fitzgerald (Bed/Len) by fall, 0:38

132 lb: Gunnar Larsen finished second

Quarterfinals: Larsen over Termce Sheley (Bed/Len) by fall, 2:46

Semifinals: Larsen over Kaley Downey (Clarinda) by dec, 6-2

Finals: Joel Sampson (AHST) over Larsen by dec, 12-11

138 lb: Cayden Jensen finished sixth

First round: Jensen over Jacob Fox (ACGC) by fall, 1:42

Quarterfinals: Brayton Chestnut (Cr-OM) over Jensen by fall, 2:46

Consolation quarterfinals: Jenson received a bye

Cons. semifinals: Jensen over Kaden Street (Cr-OM) by MD, 12-4

5th place: J.J. Beaver (Knoxville) over Jensen by fall, 1:19

145 lb: Cale Rowley finished third

Quarterfinals: Rowley over Colton Barnes (Central Decatur) by fall, 3:47

Semifinals: Jaydon Knight (Mount Ayr) over Rowley by fall, 5:28

3rd place: Rowley over Koby Gordon (Knoxville) by dec, 10-9

160 lb: Christian Nolte finished fourth

Quarterfinals: Nolte over Talal Rahahleh, (Mt. Ayr) by fall, 0:53

Semifinals: Zander Reed (Cent. Dec.) over Nolte by fall, 3:42

3rd place: Nash Linsley (Knoxville) over Nolte by fall, 2:38

170 lb: Reid Rumelhart finished fourth

First round: Drew Venteicher (Bed/Len) over Rumelhart by technical fall, 1.5 2.22(19-3)

Second round: Seth Kiesel (AHST) over Rumelhart by fall, 2:43

3rd place: Matthew Johnson (Southwest Valley) over Rumelhart by fall, (3:58)

182 lb: Cole Plowman finished fourth

Quarterfinals: Plowman over Brandon Raasch (NV) by fall, 1:16

Semifinals: Dakota Boswell (Cent. Dec.) over Plowman by fall, 0:27

3rd place: Michael Shiffer (AHST) over Plowman by fall, 1:06

195 lb: Bryce Rochholtz finished sixth

Quarterfinals: Kale Haffner (SWV) over Rochholtz by fall, 0:35

Consolation semifinals: Rochholz received a bye

5th place: Tyler Binning (Clarke/Murray) over Rochholtz by fall

220 lb: Jon Pavelka finished fifth; Ben Pavelka finished sixth

Quarterfinals: Dalton Calkins (SWV) over Jon Pavelka by fall, 1:11

Jake Smith (C/M) over Ben Pavelka by fall, 3:44

Consolation semifinals: Jon Pavelka received a bye

Ben Pavelka received a bye

5th place: Jon Pavelka over Ben Pavelka, by fall, 3:44

Team scores:

AHSTW 193.5

Bedford/Lenox 114.5

ACGC 113.0

Knoxville 111.5

Mount Ayr 97.5

Central Decatur 80.0

Nodaway Valley 79.0

Clarke 76.0

Creston/O-M 68.0

Clarinda 67.0

SW Valley 49.5

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page