top of page
  • Keith Hjelle

Charger Wrestlers Split Triple Dual: Win Over East Mills, Fall to Pleasantville

While multiple basketball games were being played in the ACGC High School gym, the Charger wrestlers were hard at it in the small gym taking on East Mills and Pleasantville in a triple dual event. ACGC came away with a 42-30 win over East Mills, and lost to Pleasantville 55-18. Pleasantvile topped East Mills 51-30 in the third match of the night.

Three Chargers went undefeated on the day, with Dawson Muller at 126 pounds,Gunnar Larson at 132, and Cale Rowley at 145 claiming two wins. Muller won an 11-9 decision over Brodyn Way of East Mills and threw Gage Lyon of Pleasantville in forty seven seconds. Larsen's wins came over Ryan Sortenbecker of East Mills by a 9-2 decision and by fall over Trevor Nickel of Pleasntville in just twenty four seconds. Rowley won by forfeit against East Mills and pinned Brynn Miller of Pleasantville in half a minute.

Jon Pavelka had the fastest pin of the night with a twenty second win over Sylas Allen of East Mills. Seth Danker wrestled at 138 last night rather than his normal 126 and split his matches, winning and losing by fall. He pinned Tyler Prokop of East Mills in 1:22 and lost to Kill Lundy of Pleasntville by fall in 5:57. Also going 1-1 was Reid Rumelhart who threw Wyatt Franks of East Mills in 1:19 and was pinned by Jacob Hiemstra of Pleasantville in 3:50.

Coach Shawn Danker provided these remarks about the evening: "It was a busy night for our gyms. We had some good things happen for us and some things we can still build on. It was great to have a home event and use the mat lamp for our kids and fans to experience. We had an exciting atmosphere. The team really reacted well. Thanks to everyone who came out and cheered us on."

The split gives the Chargers a 5-2 dual record for the season. Next up for the grapplers is a four team dual event at Southeast Valley of Gowrie tomorrow (Thursday) night. The wrestling is scheduled to begin at 6 PM. Go Chargers!

ACGC 42, East Mills 30 Pleasantville 55, ACGC 18

106: Double forfeit 106: Devon Luing won by forfeit

113: Zach Biggerstaff won by forfeit 113: Brock Jones won by forfeit

120: Andrew Laramy won by forfeit 120: Double forfeit

126: Dawson Muller (ACGC) over Brodyn 126: Dawson Muller (ACGC) over

Wray, by dec, 11-9 Gage Lyon by fall, 0:47

132: Gunnar Larsen (ACGC) over Ryan 132: Gunnar Larsen (ACGC) over

Sortenbecker by dec, 9-2 Trevor Nickel by fall, 0:24

138: Seth Danker (ACGC) over Tyler 138: Kitt Lundy over Seth Danker

Prokop by fall, 1:22 (ACGC) by fall, 5:57

145: Cale Rowley (ACGC) won by forfeit 145: Cale Rowley (ACGC) over

Brynn Miller by fall, :30

152: Jackson Wray over Jacob Fox (ACGC) 152: Ross Stephens won by forfeit

by fall, 2:29

160: Reid Rumelhart (ACGC) over Wyatt 160: Jacob Hiemstra over Reid

Franks by Fall, 1:19 Rumelhart (ACGC) by fall, 3:50

170: Brody Gordon over Cole Plowman 170: Michael McGriff over Cole

(ACGC) by fall, 3:34 Plowman (ACGC) by dec,7-1

182: Devon Jackson (ACGC) won by forfeit 182: Isaac Mann over Devon

Jackson (ACGC) by MD, 12-1

195: Bryce Rochholz (ACGC) won by forfeit 195: Jake DeJoode over Jon

Jon Pavelka (ACGC) by fall, 0:40

220: Jon Pavelka (ACGC) over Slyas Allen 220: Cale Anthony won by forfeit

by fall, 0:22

285: Andrew Jackson won by forfeit 285: Matthew Kauffman won by for-


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page