top of page
  • jsheeder6

ACGC CC Finishes Sixth, Third at Gilbert Meet; Suhr Sets Record

Kudos to Chargers' cross country coach Colin Shawgo for finding a meet for his teams after Greene County cancelled its meet last Thursday. Shawgo managed to get his teams entered in a meet hosted by Gilbert that was run on the Iowa State course in Ames.

This was the largest meet that the Chargers have participated in this year, with twelve girls' teams and fourteen boys' teams competing. The ACGC girls finished sixth with 178 points, with conference rivals VanMeter (128) and Earlham (164) finishing in fourth and fifth places respectively.

Hayden Coffman paced the Chargers' girls with a 24th place finish in 21:56, while Ava Campbell came in 27th with a time of 22:16 and Adalyn Benson placed 30th with a time of 22:34. Also figuring in the scoring were Paige Van Meter (45th; 23:44) and Kiersten Knobbe (52nd; 24:17). Freshmen Jayla Hoover (65th; 25:37), Emmarae Ellis (75th; 26:04) and senior Mia Ocheltree (27:27:53) rounded out the ACGC team.

"Six of our girls were able to get a season's best and we competed hard against teams ranked fourth and seventeenth in class 3A, tenth and eleventh in 2A, and eighth in 1A," Shawgo said following the meet.

"We have a tough group of three that tends to be up front, led by Hayden Coffman and followed up by Ava Campbell and Adalyn Benson. From there Paige Van Meter, Jayla Hoover and Kiersten Knobbe set up a second pack for us. As long as both packs continue improving as much as they are, we are going to be a dangerous team by the end of the year."

The Chargers' boys also team fared well, finishing third among the fourteen teams participating. ACGC's point total was 104, with class 3A teams Dallas Center-Grimes and North Polk finishing ahead of the Chargers.

Trevin Suhr led the ACGC runners with a time of 16:10 over the 5K course that established a new ACGC record. The Charger senior placed fourth among the over 150 runners competing.

Other Chargers' place winners included Justin Reinhart (21st; 17:31), Andrew Mahaffey (24th;

17:44), Bo Arrasmith (27th; 17:52), Noah Kading (28th; 17:53), Gavin Sloss (30th; 10:01), and Lance Bunde (32nd;18:12).

Shawgo also praised the boys' team for its efforts. "The boys lit up the course in the second race of the night. The only teams to beat the boys were two 3A teams in DCG and North Polk, which are ranked first and second.

"Trevin Suhr led the way again for the Chargers with a school record time of 16:10 which was also good enough for a fourth place overall. Going into this meet our main goal was to prove that we deserve to be number one in the state, and I think the boys ran well enough to get that done."

Girls team scores: Gilbert 44, North Polk 62, Roland-Story 93, Van Meter 128, Earlham 164, ACGC 178, South Hamilton 186, West Marshall 197, Kuemper Catholic 233, Madrid 243, Nevada 256, Boone 278

Boys' Team Scores: DC-G 29, North Pold 69, ACGC 104, Earlham 134, Gilbert 154, Kuemper Catholic 170, Nevada 188, Boon 273, West marshall 274, Roland-Story 284, Van Meter 294, Madrid 298 South Hamilton 317, Ankeny Christian Academy 340

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page