• Keith Hjelle

Charger Grapplers Go 2-1 in Home Quadrangular

The ACGC wrestlers came up with two wins in a four teem dual event held on the Charger home mats last night. The Chargers succeeded in defeating Griswold, 54-9, and East Union by a 48-18 score, while dropping a 41-32 decision to AHSTW. The team's dual record now stands at 8-6 for the season.

Five Chargers went undefeated on the night including Tegan Salybaugh at 106, Seth Danker at 138, Dawson Muller at 145, Cale Rowley at 152, and Cristian Nolte at 182. All five won two matches in head to head completion and also picked up a forfeit win.

Danker added to his undefeated streak as he improved his season record to 21-0 with a fall over Eric Allen of East Union in 1:54 and an 18-1 technical fall over Dayden Moerti of AHSTW. Slaybaugh (19-3) and Nolte (17-4) moved closer to the twenty win mark with their performances.

Slaybaugh, Muller (14-9), Rowley (12-1), and Nolte all pinned both of their AHSTW and East Union opponents and won by forfeit versus Griswold. Rowley recored the fastest fall of the night when he threw Daven Moore of East Union in 0:28. Noltes two pins gives him thirteen for the season which is tops on the team.

After the meet Charger mentor Shawn Danker seemed pleased with his wrestlers' performances, but disappointed in the loss to AHSTW. "Last night we went two and one, losing to AHSTW by one match, which was a twelve point swing in my eyes. We should have been three and zero, but we did not have everyone in the lineup. Gunnar Larsen was out, so we were not at full strength.

"We wrestled pretty well coming off of Christmas break. I like where we are physically and mentally. We executed some techniques that we have been focusing on during practice, which is always good to see."

Charger results:

ACGC 54, Griswold 9: 106: Tegan Slaybaugh (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 113: Hunter Rasmussen (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 120: Double Forfeit 126: Double Forfeit 132: Austin Wetzel (ACGC) over Jeremy Sheeder (GRIS) (Fall 1:19) 138: Seth Danker (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 145: Dawson Muller (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 152: Cale Rowley (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 160: Cayden Jensen (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 170: Devon Jackson (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 182: Cristian Nolte (ACGC) over (GRIS) (For.) 195: Jackson Sheeder (GRIS) over Bryce Rochholz (ACGC) (Dec 9-2) 220: Double Forfeit 285: Erin Kelly (GRIS) over (ACGC) (For.)

ACGC 48, East Union 18: 106: Tegan Slaybaugh (ACGC) over Milo Staver (EAUN) (Fall 2:51) 113: DJ Islas (EAUN) over (ACGC) (For.) 120: Double Forfeit 126: Tyler Tate (EAUN) over (ACGC) (For.) 132: Austin Wetzel (ACGC) over Haydn Walters (EAUN) (Fall 3:31) 138: Seth Danker (ACGC) over Erik Allen (EAUN) (Fall 1:54) 145: Dawson Muller (ACGC) over Kody Exline (EAUN) (Fall 0:51) 152: Cale Rowley (ACGC) over Draven Moore (EAUN) (Fall 0:28) 160: Cayden Jensen (ACGC) over Damon Hayes (EAUN) (Fall 2:57) 170: Shane Lear (EAUN) over Devon Jackson (ACGC) (Fall 2:54) 182: Cristian Nolte (ACGC) over Josh Lopez (EAUN) (Fall 1:52) 195: Bryce Rochholz (ACGC) over Louis Gonzales (EAUN) (Fall 1:07) 220: Double Forfeit 285: Double Forfeit

AHSTW 41, ACGC 32: 106: Tegan Slaybaugh (ACGC) over Clayton Johnson (AHST) (Fall 1:33) 113: Eli Collins (AHST) over (ACGC) (For.) 120: David Johnson (AHST) over (ACGC) (For.) 126: Double Forfeit 132: Hayden Fischer (AHST) over Austin Wetzel (ACGC) (Fall 2:46) 138: Seth Danker (ACGC) over Dayden Moerti (AHST) (TF 18-1 2:22) 145: Dawson Muller (ACGC) over Isaac Stamp (AHST) (Fall 2:56) 152: Cale Rowley (ACGC) over Aidan Martin (AHST) (Fall 1:27) 160: Garrison Gettler (AHST) over Cayden Jensen (ACGC) (TF 16-1 5:42) 170: Denver Pauley (AHST) over Devon Jackson (ACGC) (Fall 0:53) 182: Cristian Nolte (ACGC) over Kolby Weihs (AHST) (Fall 1:03) 195: Bryce Rochholz (ACGC) over Nate Jorgensen (AHST) (Dec 7-2) 220: Quintin Martin (AHST) over (ACGC) (For.) 285: Jaicob Madsen (AHST) over (ACGC) (For.)

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Charger BB Teams Sweep Ogden

The ACGC basketball teams both won their ninth games of the season last night with victories over the Ogden Bulldogs in games played at the ACGC junior high gymnasium. The Charger girls won in a 66-2

Chargers Win One of Four at Kuemper Duals

The ACGC wrestling team went 1-3-1 in dual matches yesterday at the Kuemper Catholic duals in Carroll. Although the Chargers won nineteen out of the thirty contested matches, forty matches were forfe

Treys Propel Charger Girls to Win Over GVC

The ACGC girls' basketball team stepped out of the WCAC to entertain Grand View Christian last night and turned in the best three point shooting performance in school history which led the Chargers to