top of page
  • jsheeder6

Charger Track Teams Sweep Own Invitational

The ACGC track teams both turned in first rate performances last night at the Gonzales-Parrish Invitational on the Charger track. The meet as well as the track itself are named in honor of Chick Gonzales and Boyd Parrish, both of whom were long time supporters of the then Guthrie Center track programs. The Charger teams both captured titles in the eight team meet. The girls racked up 152 points, with Audubon placing second with 142. The boys won their meet with 190 points, with IKM-Manning placing second with 160.

The Charger teams piled up the gold medals, as they combined for fourteen first place finishes--five by the girls and nine by the boys. Four of the girls first places were in individual running events, with the fifth one being in the high jump.

ACGC girls' coach Colin Shawgo was obviously pleased with his team's performance when he said, "We put together our best overall meet of the year. The girls were able to win the meet as a team, and we scored our highest point total of the year. We had a great meet with twenty one season bests for our girl athletes. Coach Lacey and I are happy with this week and how we competed with some very good competition."

Five of the boys first place finishes were in individual events, while they also captured four relay titles. As the first place finishes are too many to mention in the body of this piece, they are recorded with the the results below. First place winners are highlighted.

Girls' team scores: ACGC 152, Audubon 142, Panorama 137, IKM-M 111, Glidden-Ralston 63, Paton-Churdan 37, Exira-EHK 27, CR-B 16

ACGC girls' place winners: Running events: 100 meters: Anaston Benson 7th (:14.04) 200 meters:

Sophie Dorsey 7th (:30.80); Jordan Lemke 8th (:31.33) 400 meters: EmmaKay McClain 5th (1:11.85); Sophie Danker 8th (1:13.75) 800 meters: Jorja Hoover 3rd (2:36.31); Rylee Sloss 4th (2:41.46) 1500 meters: Rylee Sloss 1st (5:22.97; Jorja Hoover 2nd (5:25.00) 3000 meters: Rylee Sloss 1st (11:43.10); Kiersten Knobbe 4th (13:46.22) 100 hurdles: Sophie Dorsey 3rd (:17.96); Saige O'Brien 4th (:18.91) 400 hurdles: EmmaKay McClain 1st (1:12.64); Isabell Rouse 6th (1:28.39)

Relay events: 4X100: (Jordan Lemke, Anaston Bensen, Jorja Hoover, Isabelle Policky) 3rd (:56.12)

4X200: (Isabelle Policky, Alyson Embleton, Jordan Lemke, Audrey Stowe) 1st (2:04.79) 4X400: (Sophie Danker, Isabelle Policky, Emerson Van Meter, Hayden Coffman) 4th (5:02.57 4X800: (EmmaKay McClain, Hayden Coffman, Sophie Danker, Jorga Hoover) 3rd (11:16.70) 800 MEDLEY:

(Isabelle Policky, Mersadez Richter, Sophie Dorsey, Anaston Benson) 3rd (2:07.72) 1600 MEDLEY:

(Alyson Embleton, Emerson Van Meter, Jenna Rowley, EmmaKay McClain) 6th (5:33.99)

Shuttle Hurdle: (Hayden Coffman, Jenna Rowley, Saige O'Brien, Sophie Dorsey) 2nd (1:15.45)

Field Events: High Jump: Chloe Largent 1st (5'2") Long jump: Jordan Lemke 5th (12'9.5"); Isabelle Rouse 6th (12'9") Shot Put: Mady Kelsey 3rd (34'11"); Presley Buttler 8th (27"'8") Discus throw: Mady Kelsey 4th (89'11.5"); Mercedez Richter 8th (78'10.5")

Boys' Team Scores: ACGC 190, IKM-M 160, Audubon 110, Glidden-Ralston 89, CR-B 45, Panorama 42, Exira-EHK 30, Paton-Churdan 28

ACGC boys' place winners: Running events: 100 meters: Brock Littler 3rd (:11.89); Griffen Ayers 7th (:12.19) 200 meters: Griffen Ayers 6th (:25.15) 400 meters: Jacob Fox 3rd (:56.18); Dawson Muller 6th (:59.35) 800 meters: Charlie Crawford 1st (2:05.11); Kaden Thompson 4th (2:14.39)

1600 meters: Trevin Suhr 1st (4:57.44); Justin Reinhart 3rd (5:10.69) 3200 meters: Trevin Suhr 2nd (10:35.62); Justin Reinhart 4th (11:07.37) 110 hurdles: Clayton Wardyn 1st (:15.84); Lance Bunde 6th (:20.5) 400 hurdles: Dawson Muller 3rd (1:02.82); Zander Kenyon 5th (1:04.45)

Relay events: 4X100: (Jacob Fox, Reid Rumelhart, Cayden Jensen, Austin Kunkle) 2nd (:45.57)

4X200: (Brock Litler, Clayton Wardyn, Cayden Jensen, Austin Kunkle) 2nd (1:34.55) 4X400: (Jacob Fox, Trevin Suhr, Austin Kunkle, Charlie Crawford) 1st (3:41.37) 4X800: (Kaden Thompson, Austin Wetzel, Zander Kenyon, Miles Kading) 1st (9:17.04) 800 MEDLEY: (Jacob Fox, Reid Rumelhart, Brock Littler, Charlie Crawford) (1st 1:39.90) 1600 MEDLEY: (Reid Rumelhart, Cayden Jensen, Austin Kunkle, Charlie Crawford 1st (3:51.53) Shuttle hurdle: (Cayden Jensen, Anthony Solorzano Hogan Grubbs, Clayton Wardyn) 2nd (1:09.00)

Field events: High jump: Clayton Wardyn 3rd (5'8") Long jump: Brock Littler 7th (17'9.5") Shot put:

Cael Hoing 1st (43'3") Discus throw: Cael Hoing 1st (138'2.5"); Gavin Cornelison 3rd, 115'9"

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page