top of page
  • jsheeder6

Charger Wrestlers Finish in the Middle at Riverside Meet

In what was a massive wrestling meet at Riverside of Oakland that included competitors from twenty one schools , the ACGC grapplers finished right in the middle in the number eleven position with fifty seven team points.

Eight Chargers competed with five of the eight winning places. Cayden Jensen finished the best for the Chargers with a third place finish at 160 pounds. Jensen won three out of four matches on his way to the bronze medal including a 7-4 decision over Zach Butler of Woodbury Central in the match for third place.

Other place winners for the Chargers were Gavin Sloss at 113 and Tegan Slaybaugh at 120 who both finished fifth. Dawson Muller took sixth place at 160 and Bryce Rochholz claimed 8th place at 195.

ACGC scored 57 team points, while Creston/Orient-Macksburg won the title with 204 points.

113: Gavin Sloss (AC/GC) finished 5th. Champ. Round 1-Gage Schottel (Savannah) over Gavin Sloss (AC/GC) (Fall 4:00) Cons. Round 1-Gavin Sloss (AC/GC) received a bye Cons. Round 2-Gavin Sloss (AC/GC) over Kellen Oliver (Riverside, Oakland) (Dec 10-5) Cons. Semis-Gavin Sloss (AC/GC) over Gage DeShon (Lathrop) (MD 8-0) 5th Place Match-Gavin Sloss (AC/GC) over Jack Spiehs (Aurora) (Fall 3:52)

120: Tegan Slaybaugh (AC/GC) finished 5th. Champ. Round 1-Tegan Slaybaugh (AC/GC) received a bye Quarterfinals-Brand Beaver (Woodbury Central) over Tegan Slaybaugh (AC/GC) (Dec 7-4)

Cons. Round 2-Tegan Slaybaugh (AC/GC) over Gannon Greiner (Pekin) (Fall 1:34) Cons. Semis- Tegan Slaybaugh (AC/GC) over Taven Moore (Riverside, Oakland) (MD 13-2) 5th Place Match- Tegan Slaybaugh (AC/GC) over Brody McKinley (Harlan Community) (Fall 2:19)

160: Cayden Jensen (AC/GC) finished 3rd. Champ. Round 1-Cayden Jensen (AC/GC) over Tyler Raybourn (Clarinda) MD (11-3) Quarterfinals-Cayden Jensen (AC/GC) over Drystin Dotson (Lathrop) (Fall 3:00) Semifinals-Nolan Moore (Riverside, Oakland) over Cayden Jensen (AC/GC) (Dec 4-2) 3rd Place Match-Cayden Jensen (AC/GC) over Zach Butler (Woodbury Central) (Dec 7-4)

160: Dawson Muller (AC/GC) finished 6th. Champ. Round 1-Dawson Muller (AC/GC) over Gabe Jensen (Audubon) (Fall 2:29) Quarterfinals-Gavin Maguire (Logan-Magnolia) over Dawson Muller (AC/GC) (Fall 1:01) Cons. Round 2-Dawson Muller (AC/GC) over Kendrik Owens (Aurora) (Fall 2:18)

Cons. Semis-Dawson Muller (AC/GC) over Britton Kemling (Aurora) (Fall 3:13) 5th Place Match- Garrison Gettler (AHSTW) over Dawson Muller (AC/GC) (MD 11-3)

195: Bryce Rochholz (AC/GC) finished 8th. Champ. Round 1-Logan Dickerson (Shenandoah) over Bruce Rochholz (AC/GC) (Fall 1:45) Cons. Round 1-Bryce Rochholz received a bye Cons. Round 2-Bryce Rochholz (AC/GC) over Adam Mitchell (MVAOCOU) Fall (2:39) Cons, Semifinals-Caleb Hiatt (Logan-Magnolia) over Byrce Rochholz (AC/GC) (Fall 3:38) 7th Place Match-Juan Topete (West Sioux, Haywarden) over Bryce Rochholz (Fall 1:46)

220: Cooper Tunik (AC/GC)-DNP Champ. Round 1-Jeremiah Davis (Harlan Community) over Cooper Tunik (AC/GC) (Fall 0:45) Cons. Round 1-Levi Davis (Woodbury Central) over Cooper Tunik (AC/GC) (TF 15-0 4:00)

2:20 Michael Fuller (AC/GC-DNP) Champ. Round 1-Ashton McMillan (West Sioux, Haywarden) over Michael Fuller (AC/GC) (Fall 1:15) Cons. Round 1-Michael Fuller received a bye Cons. Round 2-Henry Lund (AHSTW) over Michael Fuller (AC/GC) (Fall 3:26)

285: Payton Jacobe (AC/GC)-DNP Champ. Round 1-Aaron Jividen (Aurora) over Payton Jacobe (AC/GC) (Fall 1:42) Cons. Round 1-Payton Jacobe (AC/GC) received a bye Cons. Round 2-Grant Brix (Logan-Magnolia) over Payton Jacobe (AC/GC) (Dec 5-2)

Team scores: Creston/O-M 204, West Sioux 183, Lo-Ma 179, Clarinda 133, Aurora 131, Harlan 121, Woodbury Central 105, AHSTW 95, Savanah 67, Earlham 59, AC/GC 57, Riverside 53, MVAOCOU 45, Shaenandosh 43, Audubon 43, Lathrop 31, Pekin 28, East Mills 24, Ridge View 20, West Harrison 0, Woodbine 0

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Panorama girls' basketball team learned why Dike-New Hartford is ranked number one in class 2A, as the Wolverines defeated the Panthers 67-23 in a semifinal game at Wells Fargo Arena. The Panthers

Three area boys have been selected as class 2A all-substate basketball performers for substate number eight, including Miles Kading and Ben Marsh from ACGC and Jared Wasson of Panorama. Substate numbe

The West Central Activities Conference has released its boys' all conference selections for the 2021-22 basketball season. Conference champion Van Meter headed up the selections with two Bulldogs maki

bottom of page