• Keith Hjelle

Chargers Send Five to District Wrestling; Three Win Titles

Updated: Feb 8

The ACGC wrestlers made a strong showing at the Ogden sectional wrestling tournament Saturday as each of the eight Charger entrants earned a top five place, with five individuals advancing to the district tournament that will be held in Guthrie Center next Saturday.

Three Chargers seniors--Gunnar Larsen at 132 lb, Seth Danker at 138, and Cale Rowley at 152-- earned top honors, while a fourth senior Christian Nolte at 170 lb. advanced to district with a second place finish. Freshman Tegan Slaybaugh will also wrestle next Saturday as he finished as runner up at 106 lb.

Three ACGC grapplers placed fourth including 145 pounder Dawson Muller, Cayden Jensen at160 lb, and the fifth Charger senior, Bryce Rochholz at 195 lb.

Rowley recorded two falls on his way to the 152 lb title, while Larsen and Danker each recorded one on their way to their first place finishes.

As a team the Chargers finished fourth out of the eight schools represented with 136 points. South Central Calhoun won the team title with 211 points.

IHSAA 1A Sec 2 Results for ACGC:

106 lb: Tegan Slaybaugh (34-7) placed 2nd. Quarterfinal: Tegan Slaybaugh (ACGC) received a bye Semifinal: Tegan Slaybaugh (ACGC) won by major decision over Ronnie Orres (St. Edmond, Ft Dodge) (MD 12-0) 1st Place Match: Kolton Munson (Ogden) won by major decision over Tegan Slaybaugh (ACGC) (MD 12-2) 2nd Place Match: Tegan Slaybaugh (ACGC) won by no contest over Ronnie Orres (St. Edmond, Ft Dodge) 20-11

132 lb: Gunnar Larsen (12-1) placed 1st. Quarterfinal: Gunnar Larsen (ACGC) received a bye

Semifinal: Gunnar Larsen (ACGC) won by major decision over Dominic Degeneffe (Ogden) (MD 10-1) 1st Place Match: Gunnar Larsen (ACGC) won by fall over Jordan Khommanyvong (South Central Calhoun) (Fall 5:44)

138 lb: Seth Danker (33-2) placed 1st. Quarterfinal: Seth Danker (ACGC) received a bye Semifinal: Seth Danker (ACGC) won by fall over Hutton Pasche (East Sac County) (Fall 1:26) 1st Place Match: Seth Danker (ACGC) won by major decision over Jaxon Christensen (Nodaway Valley) (MD 9-1)

145 lb: Dawson Muller (23-20) placed 4th. Quarterfinal: Dawson Muller (ACGC) won by decision over Emiliano Guillan (St. Edmond, Ft Dodge) (Dec 5-3) Semifinal: Carter Andreasen (Audubon) won by fall over Dawson Muller (ACGC) (Fall 0:29) 3rd Place Match: Avery McCloud (Ogden) won by decision over Dawson Muller (ACGC) (Dec 9-6)

152 lb: Cale Rowley (28-7) placed 1st Quarterfinal: Cale Rowley (ACGC) received a bye

Semifinal: Cale Rowley (ACGC) won by fall over Zachary Trott (South Central Calhoun) (Fall 5:56) 1st Place Match - Cale Rowley (ACGC) won by fall over Jevin Christensen (Nodaway Valley) (Fall 1:12)

160 lb: Cayden Jensen (24-19) placed 4th. Quarterfinal: Cayden Jensen (ACGC) won by fall over Brandon Raasch (Nodaway Valley) (Fall 0:44) Semifinal: Justus Rude (Ogden) won by decision over Cayden Jensen (ACGC) (Dec 4-2) 3rd Place Match: Jaydon Maschke (South Central Calhoun) won by fall over Cayden Jensen (ACGC) (Fall 1:56)

170 lb: Cristian Nolte (30-13) placed 2nd. Quarterfinal: Cristian Nolte (ACGC) received a bye

Semifinal: Cristian Nolte (ACGC) won by fall over Grant Webster (St. Edmond, Ft Dodge) (Fall 0:23)

1st Place Match - Blake McAlister (South Central Calhoun) won by fall over Cristian Nolte (ACGC) (Fall 1:19) Second place match: Cristian Nolte (ACGC) won by no contest over Grant Webster (St. Edmond, Ft Dodge)

195 lb: Bryce Rochholz (16-21) placed 4th. Quarterfinal: Bryce Rochholz (ACGC) won by fall over Luke Wright (East Sac County) (Fall 1:50) Semifinal: Kale Pevestorf (Coon Rapids-Bayard) won by fall over Bryce Rochholz (ACGC) (Fall 2:18) 3rd place match: Aiden Kathman (Ogden) won by fall over Bryce Rochholtz (ACGC) (Fall 3:24)

Team scores: South Central Calhoun 211, East Sac County 155.5, Ogden 153.5, ACGC 136, Audubon 107, Nodaway Valley 90.5, St. Edmond 73, Coon Rapids-Bayard 66

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Chargers' VB Advances to Regional Semifinals

With its 3-0 shutout of Nodaway Valley last night, the ACGC volleyball team has advanced to the regional semifinals for the fifth consecutive year and will face Southwest Valley of Corning in Corning

Chargers' Volleyball Wins Two of Five at W-G

The ACGC volleyball team concluded its regular season on Saturday at the Woodward-Granger tournament and came home with a two win, three loss record at the tourney. In pool play the team opened with a

Van Meter Halts ACGC Win Streak at Seven, 41-7

There's good news and bad news regarding ACGC football. The good news is that the Chargers may get another chance to play Van Meter--this time down the road in the playoffs. The bad news is that the